//
you're reading...
Theory, TRENDS

The Blue Sweater Irony

When looking through some notes on what I wanted to show at my trend seminar coming up in July, I suddenly remembered a day back in 2006 when my friend and I were a bit bored and decided to go and see the film The Devil Wears Prada. My friend, not being in the business, asked me as soon as it was over, how much of the film was actually true?

Well some of it was rubbish, but there were also some gems of truth in there. One of those gems was a scene which talks about colour and how the assistant, played by Anne Hathaway, laughs at two turquoise belts because they look like the same colour to her. Well no, they are in fact different. I’m not sure I’d go so far as to say ‘very different’ like the other actress does, but the colours are different enough and without going through all the aspects of colour mixing and tones (I’ll do this in another post) just humour me for now…… but the ‘true’ bit was yet to come.

The next part of course is the description of how the colours go on what’s called a ‘trickle down’ effect from the catwalk to retail shops. This part is completely true (when you add trend prediction and palette creation by retail designers) and it did make me laugh…..mainly becasue my friend dresses a lot like Hathaway’s character and shops at Next.

LIKE THIS POST? Then come chat to me on Facebook and discuss more trends. Click the button on the right.

Think someone would like this article? Don’t forget to share with your friends. Click the links below.

What are you thinking?

